New Salem VR Experience -


Please join us in congratulating the 2018 NSBC Scholarship Recipients.

Through the generosity and Daring Faith of New Salem we have awarded 25 scholarships were over $35,000!

We would like to extend our heartfelt appreciation to the scholarship donors, as well as to Alicia Fowler and the Scholarship Committee for the time, generosity, sacrifie, and diligence!


2018 NSBC Scholarship Recipients:

The William Harrison Sr. Memorial Scholarship was created by the Harrison Family to honor Mr. William Harrison Sr. This $500 scholarship was awarded to two high school graduates.

  • Destiny Glover, Columbia University
  • Zion Sears, Howard University

The Hank Evans and Dorothy Cage Evans Scholarship was initially going to be awarded to one college student in the amount of $500. However, through the generosity of Mr, and Mrs. Evans we were able to award seven scholarships this year.

  • Jennifer Fowler, Methodist Theological School of Ohio
  • Dionne Glover, The Ohio State University
  • Miranda Scott, Miami University
  • Halle Jefferson, Loyola University
  • Paris Shaw, Azusa Pacific University
  • Marlena Spikes , The Ohio State University
  • Eric Williams, Bethune-Cookman University

The NSBC HBCU Scholarship is a $1000 scholarship that was started by Sis. Margaret Early and was awarded to one student that will attend a historically black college or university.

  • Kaile McDaniel, Spelman College 

The NSBC Early Scholarship is a $1000 scholarship that was started by Sis. Margaret Early and was awarded to three college students.

  • Miranda Scott, Miami University
  • Elijah Harris, Otterbein University
  • Arias Heard, Washington University

Robert S. Early Communications and Media Scholarship was started by Sis. Margaret Early in honor of her husband, Bro. Robert S. Early. It is a $1000 that was awarded to a college student majoring in a media or communications field.

  • Richard Jones, Eastern Michigan University

The Elizabeth Denton Wesley Scholarship was started by Sandra Denton in honor of her mother. It is a $1000 scholarship that was awared to a student that attends a a historically black college or university.

  • Eric Williams, Bethune-Cookman University

The McDaniel-Pitts Scholarship is New Salem’s endowed scholarship. Ten college students that demonstrate academic excellence and a heart for service are awarded scholarships in the amount $2500.

  • Jennifer Fowler, Methodist Theological School of Ohio
  • Dionne Glover, The Ohio State University
  • Cierra Hill, Ohio University
  • Kristen Heard, University of Cincinnati
  • Khary Kandi, Clark Atlanta University
  • Paris Shaw, Azusa Pacific University
  • Wynette Sims, Tiffin University
  • Candace Waytes, Miami University
  • Miles Waytes, The Ohio State University
  • Kiana Williams,  North Carolina A&T State University

If you would like to support our scholarship fund, please contact Dr. TaNikka Sheppard at (614) 930-2242 or

Life Development

About New Salem

We are a growing and relevant community oriented church, with global impact through inspiring worship, holistic ministry and effective discipleship.


Daily Devotional

Get in touch

New Salem Baptist Church
2956 Cleveland Ave.
Columbus, Ohio

(614) 267-2536

Submit Prayer Requests

Update Your Membership Information

Connect With Us

Sign up for our newsletter: